PENTATON BB


Art. No. 5888


Characteristics and sound properties

Full-range loudspeakers are enjoying another comeback and arousing increased interest, embodying, as they do, everything that a point sound source should be. Large full-range loudspeakers like the B 200 - 6 Ohm have the additional characteristic of transmitting the sound in a tightly bundled beam, which produces a very tangible, three-dimensional effect and allows individual instruments to be easily located. A drawback of the system, however, is that this beaming process and the sensitivity are reduced at lower frequencies. The PENTATON BB was developed specifically as a cabinet based on the legendary B 200 - 6 Ohm but designed to compensate for these two disadvantages.

In a similar way to the QUADRO, additional full-range drivers are switched in to supplement the central driver, which is connected direct to the amplifier without an intervening filter, as the frequencies go down the scale. This allows the B 200 - 6 Ohm to develop its full potential with none of the impairments caused by frequency-dependent signal-carrying components, while the BG 20 - 8 Ohms, that are optimised for low-frequency response, maintain the extremely high sensitivity and beaming effect right down to the bass range. The additional full-range drivers are arranged symmetrically in two groups around the main speaker, which again creates an acoustic focus in the centre of the speaker cabinet. On top of this, the baffles in enclosures 2 and 4 and in enclosures 1 and 5 are angled inwards by 6° and 12° respectively. This feature guarantees that, assuming a typical listening distance of approx. 3 m, each of the drivers is exactly the same distance away from the ear and at the same angle. Given the size of these speaker cabinets, this is the only way to ensure that the phases of all the drivers are in sync across the entire frequency range.

The result of all these characteristics taken together is a sound image of the stage that could hardly be clearer or more precise. Even baritone male voices and large instruments such as the double bass or bassoon appear to be present full-size, in the right place on the virtual stage and in tangible 3D. Thanks to the enormous diaphragm area and the low moving mass, the PENTATON BB transforms dynamic jumps in the recording decisively and seamlessly into sound pressure and, with its superior handling, encourages the listener to increase the volume level until it is physically felt and yet it never becomes obtrusive or laboured.

And yet, this is definitely a speaker for connoisseurs of lower volumes. Even at low output levels, the overall sound quality is tangible and mature so that every tiny musical detail, however small, is projected audibly without the slightest distortion. The frequency response is remarkably linear for a loudspeaker of this kind, which is why the PENTATON BB is ideal for the authentic reproduction of every genre of music without restriction and will allow the listener to rediscover even old favourites thanks to its analytical and highly detailed approach.

Thanks to its high sensitivity and uniform impedance curve, the PENTATON BB is predestined for use in connection with high-grade tube amplifiers with relatively low output wattages.

Technical Data

Rated power 70 W
Maximum power 130 W
Nominal impedance Z 4 Ohm
Frequency response 40-18000 Hz
Mean sound pressure level 99 dB (2,83 V/1 m)
Cut-off frequency 1600 Hz / 9500 Hz
Principle of Housing geschlossen / closed
Net volume 200 l (38 l + 2 x 39 l + 2 x 42 l)
Outer dimension height 1557 mm
Outer dimension width 315 mm
Outer dimension depth max. 634 mm
Show all data

Frequency- and impedance response

Press

Extract from Klang & Ton

“The warmth and presence with which the instruments, in particular acoustic ones, were reproduced, were fantastic. The speakers show their spatial qualities to the best when the recordings are of high quality: it is as if the air were to take on the characteristics of solid matter, that's how accurately the instruments and voices can be located. Energetic sound reproduction is another key issue: due to their enormous dynamic capabilities, the Pentaton speakers can easily deal with any genre of music – even electronically produced deep bass pulses do not make it flinch. In terms of depth, what we measured backed up what we heard – what we couldn't measure, though, was the unique bass quality of the cones which were able to generate an amazingly light-footed but clearly defined bass range – that's the way it should be! And if you're not afraid to turn up the volume control, the Pentaton will show you that a firmly plucked guitar string can, indeed, generate sympathetic vibrations in your gut region. It can be said that the size of these speakers is fully in tune with the audiophile quality of their output.

Conclusion

Visaton's Pentaton is a speaker that will get you hooked. With harmony and balance on the one side and precision and dynamism on the other, these characteristics blend to make a speaker that is quite fantastic and which, to top it all, is more capable than most of being connected to a valve amplifier.”

PENTATON BB


Art. No. 5888
Artikel in Warenkorb legen

1495,83 € (Paar)

Eigenschaften und Klang

Breitbandlautsprecher erfreuen sich derzeit wieder immer größerer Beliebtheit, verkörpern sie doch das Ideal einer Punktschallquelle. Große Breitbandlautsprecher wie der B 200 - 6 Ohm haben darüber hinaus die Eigenschaft, den Schall stark gerichtet abzustrahlen, was in der Summe zu einer sehr präzisen räumlichen Ortbarkeit führt. Sowohl das Bündelungsverhalten als auch der Wirkungsgrad, nehmen allerdings prinzipbedingt zu tiefen Frequenzen hin ab. Mit der PENTATON BB entstand deshalb eine Lautsprecherbox um den bereits legendären B 200 - 6 Ohm herum, die genau diese zwei Nachteile kompensiert:

Ähnlich wie bei der QUADRO werden hier zu tiefen Frequenzen hin schrittweise weitere Breitbandlautsprecher dem zentralen Breitbänder, der übrigens komplett ungefiltert am Verstärker hängt, zur Seite gestellt. Der B 200 - 6 Ohm spielt so frei von jeglicher Beeinträchtigung durch frequenzveränderliche Bauteile im Signalweg sein volles Potential aus, während die mehr auf die Tieftonwiedergabe optimierten BG 20 - 8 Ohm den extrem hohen Wirkungsgrad und das hohe Bündelungsmaß bis in den Bassbereich aufrecht erhalten. Dabei sind die zusätzlichen Breitbänder in zwei Gruppen jeweils symmetrisch um den Hauptlautsprecher angeordnet, wodurch sich faktisch wieder ein akustisches Zentrum in der Mitte der Box ergibt. Außerdem sind die Schallwände der Gehäuse 2 und 4 sowie 1 und 5 um je 6° bzw. 12° nach innen geneigt. Durch diese Maßnahme wird gewährleistet, dass bei einem typischen Hörabstand von ca. 3 m jedes Chassis genau denselben Abstand und denselben Winkel zum Ohr hat. Nur so ist bei einer solch großen Box eine korrekte Phasenlage aller Chassis zueinander über das gesamte Frequenzspektrum aufrechtzuerhalten.

Das Resultat dieser Eigenschaften ist eine Bühnenabbildung, wie sie schärfer und präziser kaum vorstellbar ist. Selbst tiefe Männerstimmen oder große Instrumente wie Kontrabass oder Fagott stehen wie festgenagelt in realistischer Größe an der richtigen Stelle auf der virtuellen Bühne. Dynamiksprünge in der Aufnahme setzt die PENTATON BB dank der riesigen Membranfläche bei geringer bewegter Masse vehement und ansatzlos in Schalldruck um und verführt durch ihre Souveränität zu immer höheren Pegeln, die bereits körperlich spürbar sind und dennoch niemals nervig oder angestrengt wirken.

Dabei ist sie durchaus auch ein Lautsprecher für Freunde der leisen Töne. Auch bei geringen Pegeln entsteht ein griffiges, erwachsenes Klangbild, das jedes noch so kleine Detail der Musik schonungslos zu Gehör bringt. Der Frequenzgang ist für einen Lautsprecher dieser Art außergewöhnlich linear, weshalb sich die PENTATON BB ohne Einschränkung für die authentische Wiedergabe von Musik jeglicher Couleur empfiehlt und den Zuhörer dabei mit ihrer analytischen und detailreichen Art selbst bei altbekannten Stücken immer wieder Neues entdecken lässt.

Dank des hohen Wirkungsgrades und des gleichmäßigen Impedanzverlaufs ist die PENTATON BB prädestiniert für den Betrieb an edlen Röhrenverstärkern mit nur wenigen Watt Ausgangsleistung.

Technische Daten

Nennbelastbarkeit 70 W
Musikbelastbarkeit 130 W
Nennimpedanz Z 4 Ohm
Übertragungsbereich (-10 dB) 40-18000 Hz
Mittlerer Schalldruckpegel 99 dB (2,83 V/1 m)
Trennfrequenz 1600 Hz / 9500 Hz
Gehäuseprinzip geschlossen / closed
Nettovolumen 200 l (38 l + 2 x 39 l + 2 x 42 l)
Außenmaß Höhe 1557 mm
Außenmaß Breite 315 mm
Außenmaß Tiefe max. 634 mm
Alle Daten anzeigen

Amplituden- und Impedanzfrequenzgang

Presse

Auszug aus Klang & Ton

Großartig finde ich die Wärme und Autorität, mit der gerade akustische Instrumente wiedergegeben werden. Am spektakulärsten gelingt der Box die räumliche Abbildung bei guten Aufnahmen: Fast scheint sich die Luft in feste Materie zu verwandeln, so haargenau platziert sie Instrumente und Stimmen. Energetische Wiedergabe ist auch so Stichpunkt: Ihre riesigen dynamischen Fähigkeiten lassen die Pentaton spielerisch mit jeder Art von Musik umgehen - auch elektronisch erzeugte Tieftonimpulse jagen ihr keinen Schrecken ein. In Sachen Tiefgang deckt sich das Gehörte mit den Messergebnissen - was man allerdings nicht messen kann, ist die einmalige Tieftonqualität der leichten Membranen, die einen ungemein leichtfüssigen und gleichzeitig zupackenden Bass erzeugen können - genau so geht's! Wer den Dreh am Lautstärkeregler nicht scheut, kann mit der Pentaton aber auch erleben, dass schon eine herzhaft angerissene Gitarrenseite ordentlich Zwerchfell massieren kann. Diese Box macht bei aller audiophiler Qualität ihrer Größe alle Ehre.

Fazit
Die Visaton Pentaton ist eine Box, die süchtig macht. Harmonie und Ausgewogenheit auf der einen, Präzision und Dynamik auf der anderen Seite ergänzen sich zu einer fantastischen Box, die als i-Tüpfelchen auch röhrentauglich ist wie kaum eine andere.